Ambassador Award

Ambassador Award Collage


The ATSS Foundation Ambassador Award

Ambassadors exceed expectations in supporting The Foundation’s core purpose of promoting roadway safety through charitable giving and public awareness programs. Using a unique combination of passion and skills, they inspire others to get involved and give back to the industry.


The ATSS Foundation Ambassador Award, previously named the "Champion Award," recognizes individuals or entities who have demonstrated extraordinary efforts in supporting our core purpose. Show an ambassador that you appreciate the time and effort they have invested in furthering the mission of Toward Zero Deaths.


Nominations for the award are accepted year-round, then considered three times a year in conjunction with Foundation Board meetings in March, July and November.


Criteria and nomination form


Ambassador Award recipients (previously known as the Champion Award)



John Dreznes

John Dreznes

Awarded on Feb. 13, 2022

John Dreznes donated his time and expertise to assist with The ATSS Foundation Auctions Program and the Youth Activity Book. He has worked many companies who have hosted auctions to assist in the setup of an online auction site. He was also instrumental in the creation of the Youth Activity Book by helping design and create both online and printable versions of this important teaching tool. The plaque was presented by Foundation Board Chair David Krahulec (2020-2021) during ATSSA’s 52nd Convention & Traffic Expo in Tampa, in front of the National Work Zone Memorial.

Photo (from left): John Dreznes, David Krahulec

Cheryl Leonard

Cheryl M. Leonard, PhD, of North Carolina

Awarded in November 2021

Foundation Board Chair David Krahulec (2020-2021) and Carolinas Chapter of ATSSA President Tom Bell presented Cheryl M. Leonard, PhD, assistant director of Governor's Highway Safety Program for the NC Department of Transportation, The Foundation Champion Award for her efforts to research and honor fallen North Carolina workers on the National Work Zone Memorial and for her efforts to host a virtual work zone safety press event in North Carolina. Due to scheduling conflicts, the plaque was presented during the Feb. 1, 2022 chapter meeting.

Photo (from left): David Krahulec, Cheryl Leonard, Tom Bell

Susan Reiss

Susan Reiss

Awarded on Jan. 25, 2020

Susan Reiss served on The Foundation’s board for more than a decade, including a term as president. This first Champion Award was presented during ATSSA’s 2020 Convention & Traffic Expo 50th Anniversary Gala event in New Orleans. Kathi Holst of D2K Traffic Safety Inc. and Debra Ricker of Worksafe Traffic Control Industries Inc. nominated Reiss for the award.

Then-Foundation President Dave Krahulec (2020-2021) said Reiss initiated the sporting clay event and was instrumental in getting the charitable arm of ATSSA on solid footing.

Photo (from left): Debra Ricker, Sue Reiss, Kathi Holst

The American Traffic Safety Services Foundation is a qualified 501(c)3 tax-exempt organization. Contributions are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.
Consult your tax advisor regarding specific questions about your deductions. The Foundation’s tax identification number is 62-1384292.

Social media


Promoting roadway safety through charitable giving and public awareness

The American Traffic Safety Services Foundation (The Foundation) works to make zero deaths a reality by offering charitable programs, events, and spreading the word through public awareness. Toward Zero Deaths. Toward Zero Scholarships. Toward Zero Names.



The Foundation is the charitable arm of ATSSA.

Contact us

  • 15 Riverside Parkway, Fredericksburg, VA 22406-1077
  • 1-540-368-1701